Back, then forward…

Posted: June 4, 2011 in Posts

When you make up a program, you take your own success or failure in your hands. Training ADD, from which I suffer along with exercise hoarding, is dangerous that way. The long and short of if is if you start trying to drop really low in your back squat with 315 while using a lower bar position than you usually do and then go on to front squat 225 for a triple before moving on to the rest of a program you’ve tossed together you shouldn’t be surprised when you have to take a couple weeks off.

Did I say short?

After a lot dull achey pain, stiffness and inflexibility I finally got under the bar again for back squats, hitting 265 x 5 for a decent final set.

The real lesson here is to have faith in programs as they are written. Not any old program, but the few, widely acknowledged, stroke of genius programs that circulate on message boards and websites devoted to this sort of thing frequently. It goes back to item number four in this post, if it works a lot of successful people are doing it.

I should have stuck with the Southwood program for at least six weeks. I need the upper body work. But something about it didn’t jive with me and I wound up going off into uncharted territory and getting my back and hammies tied up in so many knots that not only could I not get under parrallel without a huge butt wink (roll under) and it took me a couple weeks of basically rehab and flexibility work just to untie everything.

Sometimes taking a few steps back is the only way to go forward.

Now I’m working with Jim Wendler’s 5,3,1. I might do better on Southwood, but 5,3,1 just feels better. Both programs are beautiful, but 5,3,1 is the girl who doesn’t have her shields up right now.

I’m still doing something like the green faces diet, and down to 215 now. I’ve been pushing the redneck prowler a lot and liking what it does. I feel sleepy, which I think is the added sled work but nothing feels quite as heavy anymore. It’s most noticeable when loading plates on the bar. They just aren’t that heavy. I’m looking forward to acclimating to the sled and heat (it’s hitting 90’s regularly now), ditching some stress after a major work project is finished and getting a spring back in my step.

I’m also working out the details of getting either my CPT (NSCA certified personal trainer) or HKC (Hardstyle kettlebell certification) out of the way this summer before starting school in the fall. It’s going to be a long row to hoe, but moving from loving to train to helping others with it and getting paid to do so…well, you love what you do, you never work a day in your life.

Why wouldn’t I give it a shot?

Leave a Reply

