Specifics of Pull day.

Posted: December 29, 2010 in Posts

This is my typical Monday workout. I may post the other days as I progress through my current program. I make my own programs because it’s easier to fit them around my equipment rather than fitting my equipment around someone else’s  program. I do take elements from other programs and blend them together. My current uses Wendler’s 5,3,1 program’s split with exercises and set/rep combo’s favored by both Dan John and Rippetoe. With a little of my own on the side.

Mondays go down like this:

Warm up

Indian clubs – five minutes of various movements (great for shoulder health and flexibility)

Goblet Squats – 1 x 10 x 25 pounds (a nice easy way to loosen the hips and lube up the knees, I up these to 2 x 10 x 45 on press and mixed days)

Windmills – 1 x 10 x 15 each arm (another good mobility movement)

Turkish get up – 2  x 10 each side (these get everything moving and working)

Rowing machine – 5 min

Strict Curl – 3x 5 x 85 (I have a history of strained biceps and forearms stronger muscles and joints means mean less injury during other lifts)

 

Workout

Power clean – 7 x 115, 5 x 135, 155 x 3, 165 x 2, 175 x 2

Deadlift – 275 x 5, 285 x 5, 295 x 5 (I was briefly doing high rep deadlifts, however, after another attempt at 405 I think 3×5 is the way to bring this lift up)

Assisted Pull Up – 2 x 10, 1 x 5 (I’m slowly working back to bodyweight, chest to bar the whole way)

 

Assistance work

Lat row – 40 x 2 x 10

Batwing – 40 x 2 x 10

One Arm Press – 40 x 2 x 5

Ab wheel – 2 x 10

Leverage bar – 2 x 10

Bodysaw – 2 x 10 (like an ab wheel, but with the wheel at your feet)

Wrist Roller – 2 x 40

Neck work – 4 x 8 x 25

Leave a Reply

