Pressing through.

Posted: November 12, 2010 in Rants

Once again I’ve stalled in the Standing Military Press. I wouldn’t call it a hard stall, however, I went out one day and did half the warm up I typically do (bad idea) then shot 95 overhead for three sets of eight like it was nothing. The next time I hit pressed, 95 was next to impossible for that many reps. So it may just have been that I had more energy available or was better rested. Either way, I’m sick and tired of pressing under 100 pounds.

I’m not terribly upset by this, however I have long felt that my Press has been lagging in proportion to my other lifts, especially my Bench and Deadlift. Today I tried something new and I’m going to stick with it for a while. In the warm up I removed my long sets of Dumbbell Press in favor of two short sets supersetted with Batwings.  I’m going to continue that, reduce the weight on warm up and add a couple of extra rowing movements to the warm up.

In addition, My set and rep structure for Mil Press will look like this:

Hang Clean to Front Mil Press – 1 Clean, 12 Press

Immediatly followed by

Hang Snatch to Behind the Neck Press – 1 Snatch, six press

Then ten Mil Press and four BTN Press

Then Eight and Two, going to push press as needed to finish the sets.

I hope to press 135 for 5 before the end of January.

My axiom of plateau busting: When stuck on reps, add weight. When stuck on weight, add reps.

Leave a Reply

