I loved your sausage for thirty somethin’ years…

Posted: October 24, 2010 in Eats!

NSFW but very funny:

It took a couple of tries but I finally got a recipe dialed in for breakfast sausage.

6 Tbsp of black pepper

5 Tbsp of rubbed sage

2 Tbsp of red pepper

1 Tbsp each of ground ginger and nutmeg.

Mix the above together well. Add 1 Tbsp of the mixture and 1 Tbsp of garlic salt to 2 pounds of ground meat and mix very very well. Cook or freeze within a week.

Now, fresh uncooked sausage, like the 12 Oz. rolls that Jimmy Dean now sells, doesn’t have a lot of ingredients listed on the packaging. I’m not terrifically worried about preservatives in the JC Potter Lite that I used to buy, unless they’re hidden under the guise of “Spices”. However, I can vary the amount of fat and sodium found in my sausage if required. I started with a fairly lean pork roast, and added 90% lean ground beef after over spicing the pork on the first try, so this batch is on par with the JC Potter in terms of nutrition values. You could easily replace the garlic salt with just garlic and use all lean meat to allow for whatever dietary restrictions you may have.

I don’t think I’ll go back to pre-packaged sausage anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

