I suppose a recap is in order…

Posted: September 20, 2010 in Posts

I competed in my first highland games yesterday. I beat many of my practice throws and overall I feel great about what I’ve learned from the experience.

First off, it’s grueling. This was 9 and a half hours in 90 degree heat. With ten throwers in Mens C Class we had to move fairly quickly from event to event. There was a lot of standing around in direct sun, Throwing something enormously heavy and then continuing to stand around. It’s also one of the most fulfilling things I’ve ever done. There’s a great sense of camaraderie and community on the field and everyone, from the 300 gorillas who will skyrocket to A Class down to the guys who are just giving it one go are generally happy to be out there and supportive.

Things I learned include:

Take much more water next time.

Stay ahead of the weight in the spins on weight for distance

Pull weight for height through your knees and straight up

Don’t look at the sheaf.

Bring more water next time.

Don’t leave your snacks with your kids.

The best thing about attending a games are the connections you make. People make it a point to find out where you live and get you connected with other throwers to practice. I think this is the most exciting thing about the games. I’m looking forward to having people to practice with. This has been a solitary endeavor for far too long.

Leave a Reply

